Athletes Confirmed for 2015 O’Neill Coldwater Classic



 Local Trials Prior to Event Start Will Offer Wildcard Spot for One Local

SANTA CRUZ, Calif., Oct. 7, 2015 – O’Neill is pleased to announce the field of competitors for the 2015 O’Neill Coldwater Classic.  The World Surf League (WSL) Men’s Qualifying Series (QS) hits Santa Cruz for three consecutive days of competition during a holding period of October 1418.  This year’s event boasts a $50,000 prize purse and 1,500 points up for grabs amongst 96 surfers hoping to qualify for the 2016 World Tour.

Reigning Coldwater Classic Champion and current WSL QS #16 Nate Yeomans (San Clemente) enters this year’s contest as the top seed. Yeomans also won the event back in 2009 when it was an ASP 6-Star PRIME.

Other notable QS athletes include: Tim Reyes (Huntington Beach), Cory Arrambide (Ventura), Kaito Kino (Honolulu), Manuel Selman (DOM), Kilian Garland (Santa Barbara) and Dylan Goodale (Hanalei).

Santa Cruz area entrants include: Nic Hdez, Shaun Burns, Anthony Ruffo, Randy Bonds, Ben Coffey, Richie Schmidt, Jason “Rat Boy” Collins, Eric Totah and Brogie Panesi.

A local trial will commence on the first morning of competition offering one winner a wildcard spot into the main competition.  Eight local athletes have been invited to compete: Bud Freitas, Jesse Columbo and Adam Replogle from the Eastside; Chad Underhill, Miles Clanton and Joey Hudson from the Westside; and Jimmy Herrick and Wilem Banks from Midtown and Unincorporated.

Since its inception in 1987, the O’Neill Coldwater Classic has been center stage for some of the world’s best surfing talent. The cold, rugged conditions, arena-like setting and local pride surrounding the famed Steamer Lane break has become legendary.  Previous winners include Santa Cruz locals Kieran Horn, Adam Replogle, Peter Mel and Nat Young, legends like Martin Potter and Tom Curren, and current World Tour standouts Joel Parkinson, Jordy Smith, Matt Wilkenson and Miguel Pupo.

Learn more and follow all of the action including a live webcast at #oneillcwc.

Special thanks to title sponsor O’Neill as well as co-sponsors and event partners Red Bull, Futures Fins, Watermans Sunscreen, Banzai Bowls, SURFER Magazine, Surfline, Hotel Paradox, Cruzio Internet and East Side Eatery for supporting the 2015 O’Neill Coldwater Classic.

About O’Neill
O’Neill, the original California surf, snow and lifestyle brand, was founded in 1952 when a young man named Jack O’Neill took his unstoppable passion for surfing and used it to battle Mother Nature. Jack’s initial vision of producing functional and innovative board riding products continues to lie at the core of everything the company does. From the first neoprene surf wetsuit and board leash to the world’s first stitchless board shorts. O’Neill will always be committed to growing its reputation as one of the world’s leading youth lifestyle brands based on being the First Name in the water.

While many things have changed since those humble beginnings, Jack’s initial vision of producing functional and innovative board riding products continues to lie at the core of everything the company does. O’Neill’s core values — innovation in style and technology — have seen the brand devote itself wholeheartedly to the evolution of the action sports lifestyle.  From the first ever neoprene wetsuit and leash, to the world’s first stitchless boardshorts and range of groundbreaking wearable electronics, O’Neill’s progressive spirit will always drive the company forward.  For more information, please visit

In 1960, SURFER Magazine began as the original. After a long history of delivering provocative and insightful editorial features, revealing interviews and award winning state-of-the-art photography, SURFER remains the authoritative voice of the surfing world and thus earned the moniker “the bible of the sport.” The SURFER brand has also grown to include, Fantasy Surfer, and the SURFER message boards. All of these assets combine to make the SURFER network the most current and reliable channel of information to the surf community. The magazine is published by TEN: The Enthusiast Network, which reaches more than 149 million active sports enthusiasts through an integrated network of magazines, online properties, events and television programming. To learn more, visit

About TEN: The Enthusiast Network
TEN: The Enthusiast Network is the world’s premier network of enthusiast brands, such as MOTOR TREND, AUTOMOBILE, HOT ROD, SURFER, TRANSWORLD SKATEBOARDING, and GRINDTV. With more than 50 publications, 60 websites, 50 events, 1,000 branded products, the world’s largest automotive VOD channel, and the world’s largest action/adventure sports media platform, TEN inspires enthusiasts to pursue their passions. For more information, visit

Media Contact:
Dawn Hamilton

The post Athletes Confirmed for 2015 O’Neill Coldwater Classic appeared first on O'Neill.

Older Post Newer Post